Friends like these- not in my portion?

I have always been curious, no fascinated is a better word about the ‘not in my portion’ mentality. Three years ago, when I was diagnosed with cancer a friend prayed for me and said “cancer is not in your portion” I said nothing, but politely hung up the phone as soon as the friend went on about “no need for treatment, the tests are lies results are lies from the devil and with faith you will prosper.” What kind of person says things like that to someone they claim to care about? I politely respected their opinions or the right to have them. Why? Because I read somewhere that “opinions are like assholes everyone has one.” On a serious note I have cried and prayed and laughed and ignored and pondered these thoughtless comments about portion and lack of faith over the years. One question that always bugs me is that why is it that it’s always diseases like cancer, Ebola, HIV, that are not in our portion. Other questions include: Is malaria in our portion, common cold, headache or minor cuts and scrapes? Why does my friend self medicate and see the doctor for these conditions but does not respect my right to do so for something major? Is faith only selective or elective during major crises? If you believe that God made everything why don’t you believe that he gave scientists and doctors the knowledge to save lives? Yes we are all entitled to our opinions, but when you cruelly blame a sick person for their disease or death, because “they lack faith,” how unattractive is your religion. To my former friend that prayed for me, please remember the clichés; “the road to hell is paved in good intentions,” and “with friends like these who needs enemies.” BTW I will still pray for you.

2 thoughts on “Friends like these- not in my portion?

  1. I hope you are much better in your health now. We Nigerians need to know what prayer heals and what prayer supports. Prayer alone does not cure things things that have actual medication. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

  2. I feel you o!
    Most people don’t realise that these religious platitudes sound so mean to the person who is down.
    We need to learn how to talk and behave in a supportive manner.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

