Dehin leyin mi

1989 I walk into my dormitory in CPTC in Canada and down the hallway, I heard Ebenezer Obey playing, the song was “dehin le yin mi.” The chap playing the music was Canadian and I can’t even remember his name, but I dubbed so many cassettes from him including several Osadebe and Sunny Ade albums. I still have those cassettes as well as mix-tapes from PC from so many friends. Every time I play them, I remember the promise of youth, optimism, drive and boundless energy.

Leave a Reply

