Fi Iya Jemi

WNTV Ibadan introduced me to a host of musicians from Bob Marley to Thin Lizzy. Their music became anthems forming part of the sound track that shaped and colored so many life experiences. Radio Oyo introduced me to smooth Jazz, which was so soft compared to the records that my father played. While NTV Ibadan fully convinced me that funk could complement punk, rock, fuji, ska and reggae. Deep down inside, I became truly an equal opportunity music lover. From classical to country to hip hop to juju, anything goes. One song sums up my feelings about so many things and has done so for more than thirty five years; Tunji Oyelana’s “ko se ni to le fi ya jemi ko lo.” Like many of the Yoruba songs, any attempt to translate it to English will not do it justice, suffice to say that efforts to malign/hurt me will be futile. 

There are so many songs that make me pause and listen and force me to question, laugh, cry or just dance. And I am so forever grateful that I was raised in an environment where music fed my soul. In the 1980s I fell in love with Soul II Soul and one of their many songs that I loved was “Joy” I just fell in love with Richie Steven’s voice.

Imagine my joy when a friend introduced me to another Richie Stevens’ song a few year ago, “live your life.” This song has helped usher a new chapter of hope.

Leave a Reply

