Circadian clocks and umbilical cord

I have spent more than two thirds of my life in North America but I seem to function in a state of perpetual jet lag. However whenever I travel to Europe or Nigeria, I am never jet lagged. My working hypothesis is that my circadian has homed into the place where my umbilical cord is buried. I am not sure if it is in a landfill or was incinerated as part of the bio-waste from that hospital but somehow it beckons my body to obey it. Without fail I open my eyes at ungodly hours. I am more productive at hours more suited to someone living in Ibadan than Houston. What is my body trying to tell me? What has it been telling me for almost 3 decades? Will I ever listen?

Leave a Reply

