What I did on my spring break vacation

So I am doing an ancestry search on mini-me’s African American family. So far I’ve found FreedMen of the Chickasaw tribe of Oklahoma and a relative who was mulatto one decade and showed up as white? the next. I discovered black ancestors that were landowners in 1900 and domestic servants by 1920. I followed one branch of the family to a Stephen Miles who was born about 1856 but then I hit the wall of slavery. I think the European line may be easier to follow but it’s important to confirm which slave holder is the right one. Reading slave schedules and seeing ~ 6 year old slaves born in Africa is quite painful when I realize this may be my baby girl’s ancestor. So now you know what I did on my vacation.

Leave a Reply

